Glass Girl

Glass Girl

Blurb:“The ice cold fear I’d felt, not knowing if Wyatt was alive, pressed into the wall with other girls and surrounded by guys who were unspeakably brave, hit my body again in a wave.

“This was trauma – the gift that keeps on giving.”

When Meg Kavanagh finds herself in the unthinkable role of grieving sister, she discovers some harsh truths–parents aren’t perfect, life’s not always sweet, and the dead don’t write back. Her famous artist mom grieves by slowly disappearing, and her dad copes by moving them to a small town in Wyoming.

What she finds in Wyoming blindsides her.

His name is Henry Whitmire and he’s a rancher’s son who pulls Meg into his larger-than-life world and shows her that the best things in life – like falling in love and finding mercy – require uncommon courage. 

The only way to describe Glass Girl by Laura Anderson Kurk is using words like powerful or impactful or — you get the picture. When I turned the last page and set the book down, I was unsettled. This is the kind of journey that requires days to digest. Yes, it was that good.

There were so many aspects about Glass Girl I enjoyed. Initially, what enticed me to the story is that most of it takes place in Wyoming. Having married a Wyoming boy and lived there for five years, I was excited to read a book that took place in an all-too-often-overlooked state and read the viewpoint of a transplant like myself. And I had no trouble slipping into the setting – I pictured the small town of Buffalo, WY until the book clarified that they were closer to the Worland/Thermopolis area. Slightly different scenery but same Wyomingite vibe.   In fact, the only inconsistency I found was a scene where Meg experiences hot springs for the first time. Speaking from my own first encounter, there is no way she would not have noticed and commented on the heavy sulfur smell. Believe me, it’s a shock when you aren’t expecting it!!  😉

If I step back and analyze the book critically, I didn’t love the romance.  If I was a teen perhaps I would feel differently but as a mother… Henry was sweet and kind and, frankly, a little too perfect. My biggest issue was how the two of them were constantly completely alone, one of those times she actually sat on his lap while wearing a bathing suit, and they went on an overnight trip (albeit with semi-competent adult supervision). Meg was foolish at times and exposed herself to several dangerous situations but they were realistic teen scenarios and I don’t think she really had a Christian faith to fall back on at those points in the story. But Henry did and so I found his deliberately exposing the two of them to constant physical temptation disconcerting mainly because he seemed to have no qualms over it.

But the true gem of the story is Meg’s journey in learning grace, mercy, forgiveness and love. In applying them to her classmates, her family, and ultimately herself. It’s difficult to explain but the entire subject-matter is handled so thoughtfully and deeply. It’s powerful and woven throughout the entire book in a growing theme. I think a reader would be challenged to experience Glass Girl and not emerge a better person – a Christian with a deeper faith.

Do you enjoy introspective books?

Disclosure of Material Connection: I won a copy from lisagodfrees.com in a giveaway. I was not required to write a positive review (or any review at all). The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

2 thoughts on “Glass Girl

  1. Almost 2 months later I’m finally seeing this post. Sorry! I took that break in December and it must have slipped my radar.

    I agree with you about the couple being alone A LOT. If Henry wasn’t so perfect, they could have gone a lot farther than they wanted. I do wonder about Christian books where teens get to spend so much time alone, especially at each other’s houses or in each other’s bedrooms!

    But I agree with you on Meg’s journey. That was the heartfelt part that was worth reading.

    If you do happen to pick up the second in the series, Henry is no longer perfect. At points, you almost wonder if he’s the same character. i like Henry in the second story better because he isn’t perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

