A Love Like Ours

Well, I’m about to swear off most contemporary inspirational romances – very few do it for me anymore, with the exception of Mary Connealy and Karen Witemeyer. But I’ve read several that I’d like to share about since I did read them and they were still well-written, even if not quite my cup of tea.

Ours Blurb: Former Marine Jake Porter has far deeper scars than the one that marks his face. He struggles with symptoms of PTSD, lives a solitary life, and avoids relationships.

When Lyndie James, Jake’s childhood best friend, lands back in Holley, Texas, Jake cautiously hires her to exercise his Thoroughbreds. Lyndie is tender-hearted, fiercely determined, and afraid of nothing, just like she was as a child. Jake pairs her with Silver Leaf, a horse full of promise but lacking in results, hoping she can solve the mystery of the stallion’s reluctance to run.

Though Jake and Lyndie have grown into very different adults, the bond that existed during their childhood still ties them together. Against Jake’s will, Lyndie’s sparkling, optimistic personality begins to tear down the walls he’s built around his heart. A glimmer of the hope he’d thought he’d lost returns, but fears and regrets still plague him. Will Jake ever be able to love Lyndie like she deserves, or is his heart too shattered to mend?

A Love Like Ours is the 3rd book in Becky Wade’s Porter Family Series. I have not read the first two in this series but they aren’t necessary to the story. Not unless you are worried about being spoiled as to whom two of the other Porters end up with, anyway. Coming from a military family, I was especially intrigued by the hero of this novel struggling with PTSD. I felt like the author handled it fairly well but there were bits that I just didn’t feel were addressed with the depth needed. Especially Jake’s not wanting Lyndie to jockey due to his worry. The book makes sure to mention it was something he needs to work on with God – someday. But the “someday” part I found irritating. I wanted Jake to grow and I didn’t feel like we really got to see it. I realize PTSD isn’t something that is fixed overnight but when the story ends I like to feel the character is at least heading in the right direction. I felt like the book ended with sticking a pin in his main character development – all those pages to end with “we’ll get back to that eventually but for now we’re going to drop it.”

Also, for readers who like their inspirational romance squeaky-clean, these are not the books for you. This is the second book by Becky Wade I have read and they both pushed the bounds for me even though I appreciate a more realistic romance. There’s some heavy making out, alone, in one of their homes – and I just felt neither of them were being very responsible at all when it comes to physical temptation. I distinctly remember the heroine thinking something along the lines of “wanting to take him to her bed” and it made my eyebrows go ^^!! Now if she wasn’t a faithful Christian, I wouldn’t expect higher standards from her. And I don’t think I’d have a problem with that line if it was followed up by the character in a, “Wow, I’m messing up, toying with danger, and need to take some serious steps to correct this!” kind of way. But it wasn’t.

There was also a scene that was meant to be comedic that I felt was rather mocking and unkind. A heroine and her friend attend a Christian-Singles square dance with all the stereotypes including someone covered in tattoos/piercings and a guy who came to the dance but won’t actually dance because he wants to hold his wife’s hand for the first time on their wedding night. (Yes, someone covered in tatts and piercings might not be the right person for the heroine and her friend. Yes, the same goes for Mr No-Hand-Holding. But such people are every bit as much Christ’s children and worthy of love and I didn’t think such caricatures being written strictly as the “wackadoodles of the dance” was very funny.)

Overall, though, it was a well-written book. It just had little things, from my personal taste, that added up to detract from my enjoyment.

Would any of these things have bothered you?

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free through Goodreads First Reads. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

6 comments

  1. I would have never picked this kind of book up to start with cuz it ain’t my cup of tea, but I get where you’re coming from. The part that would have bothered me most would be the lack of resolution to the main story question involving PTSD. Very thorough review but are you sure you liked the book? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Did I say I liked it liked it? *goes back and rereads review* Truthfully, if it weren’t for the ending, I would have liked the book okay. Not loved it, but not really had much problem with it either. But the ending (which I glossed over a bit in the review) really annoyed me. I felt like it nullified everything that had come before. But I can definitely see why the book would be popular with a lot of readers, too. Just not for me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

