Seeking Unseen

Blurb: It may be Angel’s wish… 

…but it’s Melinda’s journey.

It’s been two years since Angel learned the magic chip of wood inside her locket would grant any wish. What is taking her so long to choose?

An alarming discovery about her beloved foster brother Zack makes the decision easy…but everything else gets complicated after she runs into her old friend Melinda, who demands to go along for the return to Toch Island.

Melinda doesn’t fit in with the magical freaks any more than she did with the losers back in Florida, but she never wanted to belong before. A secret world surrounds her where even the bugs have magic…

She’s more of an outsider than ever.

So when ex-con Doran Ashe slinks out of the shadows and offers her an easy road to powers of her own, Melinda follows him despite – or maybe because of -everyone’s warnings.

I liked Seeking Unseen (Toch Island Chronicles #2) by Kat Heckenbach better than the first volume but I also had a few more issues with it. Perhaps I should have known from the blurb but it seemed like Angel was the main character for the first part of the book and then Melinda became the main character for the latter which is an unusual format. Angel’s wish had all this build-up and then just happened so smoothly and quickly I never realized she’d actually made the wish – I spent most of the book wondering why everyone had forgotten about the wish only to realize at the end it had already been done.  The book is definitely YA instead of MG, with older characters and boy/girl relationships a large part of the plot, but I spent half of the book feeling cheated in the romance department. There’d been hints of a particular pairing in Finding Angel and not only were those squashed but a new insta-love was introduced instead. A large aspect of my enjoyment of YA is the romance and there really wasn’t any in Seeking Unseen despite all the dating. Angel and her beau were pretty much instant-perfect (and a little too lovey-dovey with the parents around) from my perspective.

But I loved Melinda and I sympathized with her feelings, her actions and so on. I was rooting for her nonstop, even while she made bad choices, because I wanted her to find happiness. Unlike Finding Angel, I figured out the ending very early on but could understand why it took the characters the time it did to figure things out.  And Seeking Unseen ended with similar hints at romantic possibilities for her future that I am hoping will be followed up on in the newly released finale.

How do you feel about hints of future romance?

Disclosure of Material Connection: I have not received any compensation for writing this post. I have no material connection to the brands, products, or services that I have mentioned. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Leave a Reply

