Replication: The Jason Experiment

Blurb:  What if everything you knew was a lie? Martyr—otherwise known as Jason 3:3—is one of hundreds of clones kept in a remote facility called Jason Farms. Told that he has been created to save humanity, Martyr has just one wish before he is scheduled to ‘expire’ in less than a month. To see the sky.

Abby Goyer may have just moved to Alaska, but she has a feeling something strange is going on at the farm where her father works. But even this smart, confident girl could never have imagined what lies beneath a simple barn. Or what would happen when a mysterious boy shows up at her door, asking about the stars.

As the reality of the Jason Experiment comes to light, Martyr is caught between two futures—the one for which he was produced and the one Abby believes God created him to have. Time is running out, and Martyr must decide if a life with Abby is worth leaving everything he’s ever known.

Replication: The Jason Experiment is the second book I have read by Jill Williamson and it confirmed for me that she is one of those authors I will read automatically.

For a book with such heavy topics, it handled everything with a light touch, keeping matters in the upper MG/lower YA range. I was on the edge of my seat the entire book – I may have read it in entirely one sitting – though there was also plenty of humor to keep it from getting too overwhelming. It was one of those books where I had to cheat (Yes, I did! I’m horrible!) and read the last page, because I was so anxious for the characters.

Abby’s faith was very central – the preaching to Martyr made sense but it also felt very heavy-handed a couple of times. There’s also a chaste romance (light kissing), some of it downright swoony, though I did have some qualms about Martyr and Abby considering she was the first girl he’d ever even met.

If I had any complaint about the book, it was that the ending was a little too fast and neat and the entire story was a tad simplistic. But that’s what makes it an MG/YA book, not one aimed at adults. If there is a sequel, I hope it explores Martyr’s faith as he matures since it was innocent as a small child’s (he needs to make his faith his own) and also the nuance of his relationship with Abby as he gets to know other girls and realizes he has choices, not just one option.

Do you ever cheat when reading?

Disclosure of Material Connection: I have not received any compensation for writing this post. I have no material connection to the brands, products, or services that I have mentioned. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

5 comments

    • lol – I remember after watching the first of the movies, not-yet-hubby calling me at midnight just to ask, “Is Gandalf really dead?” because he hadn’t read the books yet. 😀 Though when I read the books, I really thought he was dead and was so happy when he appeared later. Whereas Frodo’s “death” had me absolutely distraught – it took me half an hour to calm down enough to read the last two pages of the book and then I was furious over all the tears I had wasted. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    • I peek if I’m scared someone will die or to reassure myself the right couple end up together. Things where either I want a heads up so I can quit now or I’m liking it so much I’m going to continue regardless. Though if I’m really, really liking something, I try to resist because I’m afraid I’ll quit if I find out it doesn’t go the way I want. I’m watching an Asian drama right now that I am loving, and I am dying to peek at the end, but I’m worried if I cheat I’ll loose my love for the drama. And so far it’s 100% everything I love about adorable romance so I don’t want to ruin it for myself.

      Like

Leave a Reply

