Mind Writer

MW

Blurb: Born with a rare genetic mutation, Eighteen-year-old Rinee Newburgh has been kept in a secret government facility all her life. Trained to enhance her skills as a Mind Writer, her unique talents give her the ability to transfer a person’s thoughts, memories, personality—their soul—into a clone created for those deemed vital to society’s continued survival.

When Rinee’s friend and right hand to the President, Andrei Malotetnev, is nearly killed in an assassination attempt, she discovers the terrible truth—that Mind Writers are regarded as disposable, and life outside the Facility is nothing more than a pollution-filled world on the brink of collapse. She also learns of Malotetnev’s plan to kill millions of people as a means of freeing up dwindling resources needed by the government. Horrified at the thought of a modern day holocaust, Rinee escapes the Facility in a desperate attempt to warn the people of his evil intentions.

Locked in a race against time, Malotetnev sends his most trusted assassin with orders to eliminate Rinee at any cost before the truth can be revealed. What he didn’t count on was an assassin with a conscience.

I was privileged several years ago to be a beta-reader for Mind Writer by Mike Lynch & Lisa Godfrees. There were times when I was beta-reading that I’d get so completely sucked into the story I’d forget to pay attention for feedback purposes. So I was thrilled when it got picked up for publication and I’m happy to report the completed novel is even better than the earlier version!

Mind Writer is mostly a story about the unique alliance between a young lady who knows too much and the man sent to capture her. They encounter friends, and enemies, as they sort through their personal troubles and fight to save the lives of everyone not in the upper-crust of society. It’s action-packed with the characters on constant move. The setting is interesting as a futuristic, environmentally degraded world that has a different flavor from the prevalent YA dystopians. It feels not only familiar but plausible.

It’s a little different from my usual fiction – Adult Science Fiction rather than YA Fantasy/Romance – but I enjoyed the story a lot. I only have two quibbles and they are both minor. 1) The cover – it’s just awful. It would have been better if it showed something like the two main characters on the back of a motorcycle, perhaps with an exploding hangar behind them. Something like that. 2) There’s a bit of a split-up toward the end, almost like two separate climaxes to the story, which I thought diluted the tension just a bit.  But it was understandable and not a huge deal. Oh – and I didn’t love Malotetnev’s name – just because it was difficult to pronounce while reading the book aloud to my hubby! I’ll confess I cut the “et” from the name pretty quickly. 😉

All in all, Mind Writer is an exciting adventure and a fun read.
What different flavors would you like to see in fiction?

Disclosure of Material Connection: I was given a copy of this book by the author in thanks for being a beta-reader. I was not required to write a positive review or any review at all. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

2 comments

  1. Having also read Mind Writer, I smiled at your “quibbles.” 1. I remember feeling exactly the same way about Malotetnev’s name! 2. I completely agree with your assessment of the split climax. 3. I loved the cover! I felt it totally represented the Mind Writer. Personally, I get tired of beautiful models gracing the cover of every novel. They tell me little about what’s on the inside.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The cover just felt extremely “science fiction” to me while the book itself felt more like an action/adventure with a touch of science fiction. So, imo, it’s limiting who it attracts. Nice to see I’m not the only one who thought that name was a bit of a mouthful! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

