An Ordinary Knight

OKBlurb: Stuck in a humiliating position as the Royal Kennel Guard, Sir Percy sees little hope for anything other than an obscure fate. After all, in the Kingdom of Ithelia, you need a fairy to guide you to greatness, and fairies just don’t bother with knights like him.

However, when Percy catches the eyes of the sheltered Princess Matilda, his world expands in new and frightening ways. 

A victim of an ill-planned Christening, Matty has spent her life in a locked tower, hiding from pixie attacks. Now she’ll do anything to escape. And if that means dragging Percy along for a cross country search for Prince Charming, so be it.

But not all Prince Charmings are what they seem, and as Matty’s plight grows more desperate, Percy finds himself losing his heart. Does a lowly knight have what it takes to uncurse a princess?

An Ordinary Knight: A Fairy Cursed Fable by H.L. Burke is a cute novella. It has a similar vibe to An Ordinary Princess or Dealing With Dragons – a bit tongue-in-cheek and a little snarky. I’m normally not a huge fan of novellas but this one actually surprised me with a few twists &/or directions I wasn’t expecting. It was a fun story and something I’d feel comfortable recommending to any age group. ​This was my first story by H.L. Burke and I’ll definitely be reading more.

My only feedback is I thought the book itself was a bit big. Novellas are often smaller-sized so there are more pages and the books are a bit sturdier. Since this was full-sized, it was a bit thin and I was concerned with not bending the corners of that adorable cover.

Is there a fairy-tale twist you’d like to see written?

Disclosure of Material Connection: I won a copy of this book in a giveaway. I have not received any compensation for writing this post. I have no material connection to the brands, products, or services that I have mentioned. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

